Geekery Abounds

All Mouse’s Geekery in one place.

trapped – flash game that ate my evening

Posted by mousewrites on June 22, 2008

I grew up (and so did Bruno) with the classic adventure games: Maniac Mansion, Day of the Tentacle, Monkey Island, Sam & Max and many others. I liked those games because they demanded a different kind of thinking: you had to improvise a lot and make things that barely made sense. Sometimes it was a twisted thinking. Those of you who remember picking up the poster with the anatomy of a tentacle, sending it back to the past and putting it in the pile of flag designs so that in the future the American flag would be a perfect tentacle disguise know what I’m talking about.

trapped – about and the game itself: The White Rabbit White Rabbit

I like games like this, where you are just plopped into a situation and you have to go find items to jury-rig yourself something useful. First one I saw was Phantasmagoria, which, honestly, scared the shit out of me and made me have nightmares about being forced to eat my own child’s brain. I’m not even 100% sure that’s what was happening in the scene, but that’s what I remember. Still feel kinda ill thinking about it.

Anyhoo, Trapped is like that, except without the brain eating (I think. So far, anyway). I had to use a walk through for some of the more obscure puzzles, but it was fun anyway.

There will be a post on it later when I can talk about it more clearly, but last night, after my triumphant departure from my old job, Jules (the rat) passed away. He waited until I got home, and passed curled up in my hands. It sucked, but at least he’s not in any more pain.

One Response to “trapped – flash game that ate my evening”

  1. gamer said

    Good game “Bendy Spidey”

Leave a Reply

 
